Board Members
Carrie Hembree, President, cbhembree@gmail.com

Lindsay Sowden, President Elect, lindsaysowden@gmail.com

Shannan McKee, Secretary, shannanmckee@me.com
Jenny Benschoter, Treasurer,  jennben.43@gmail.com 
Michelle Tilton, Alumni Relations, michelleworralltilton@gmail.com 
Sally Hardinger, Communications, sallyhardinger@gmail.com     

Julie Roth, Development, jcroth@sbcglobal.net

Dawn Thibodeau, Auction, dthibodeau@wtads.com

Sue Patterson, Auction, suebeegrins@gmail.com

Erin Billingsley, Auction, drewerinb@yahoo.com 
Virginia Popper, Grants Chairman, vpop34@aol.com   
Heather Kimmel, Nominating, hkimmel1@me.com
Tiffany Connelly, Video Board/Advertising, connelly@me.com

Jane Emley, Student Ambassadors, kuandfm@sbcglobal.net

Jenny Spencer, Past President, jennyspencer@kc.rr.com
Scott Sherman, Principal, scottsherman@smsd.org 
Tiffany Connelly, PTA Representative, connelly@me.com

Grants Committee Members
(Virginia Popper, Chairperson)

Michael Kanaley, Grants Committee, michael.kanaley@global-prairie.com

Jenny Housley, Grants Committee, Jenny.Housely@Bluekc.com

Krista Fort, Grants Committee, kjfort@everestkc.net

April Crosser, Grants Committee, aprilcrosser@gmail.com

Amy Prendiville, Grants Committee, aprendiville13@yahoo.com

Jenna Joplin, Grants Committee, jennajoplin@hotmail.com

Krista Lind, Grants Committee - Staff Rep, KristinaLind@smsd.org



Alumni Reunion Tours Committee 

Beth Fowler, tigerdens@hotmail.com 


How the East Fund started


Our story began in 2003, when a group of parents founded The East Fund Fund, which is dedicated to maintaining the integrity and quality of educational programming for students at Shawnee Mission East.  


Our didactic grants focus on three areas:

  • Student and Classroom Programs
  • Technology Enhancements
  • Professional Development


The mission of The East Fund is to bring together the diverse community at Shawnee Mission East, to identify the best ways to enhance the educational experience for students and teachers alike, and to create resources to offer the widest possible range of opportunities for all students and teachers to reach their maximum potential.


Our goal is to purposely provide stretch, creativity and innovation, to benefit every student at Shawnee Mission East.

Our vision is to create a learning environment where expectations are high, with the mutual commitment of young people and adults to achieve them.